Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: RAM question [Re: Reboot] #626714 01/19/15 07:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline
Master•Blaster
Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Yeah.. now try huff po and FB.

Re: RAM question [Re: Acumowchek] #626715 01/19/15 07:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline
Master•Blaster
Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Maybe you could just increase ram and move to Snow Leopard. That may be a big enough improvement for a while. smile
Is she local?

Re: RAM question [Re: Reboot] #626716 01/19/15 07:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,208
Acumowchek Offline OP
Is this thing on?
OP Offline
Is this thing on?
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,208
Do you have a recommended OS she should use?
She has no interest in the latest or greatest, she just wants her computer to work tongue

Edit: I would have to mail her the disc and talk her through it…

Last edited by Acumowchek; 01/19/15 07:25 PM.
Re: RAM question [Re: Acumowchek] #626717 01/19/15 07:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Originally Posted By: Acumowchek
Ugh. Looks like I need to get her Snow Leopard before any other updates…
Don't have to. Scroll down to The quick-but-techie way. My instructions let you use Terminal instead of getting another app though.

I just did the following on 24 iMacs, works great.

You need to change one number in SystemVersion.plist, it's located in System/Library/CoreServices

In Terminal type;

cd /System/Library/CoreServices then hit Return (space after cd)

Then type;

sudo pico SystemVersion.plist then hit Return (space after sudo and pico)

It will ask for a password, when you type the password it won't show anything typing but it is going in, then hit Return.

You will have to use the arrow keys to navigate. Arrow down to;

<key>ProductVersion</key>
<string>10.5.8</string>

Not the one above it;

<key>ProductUserVisibleVersion</key>
<string>10.5.8</string>

Under <key>ProductVersion</key> change 10.5.8 to 10.6.8. To do that, using the arrow keys move the cursor to the . after the 5, hit Delete, type 6.

Type control-O then hit Return which will save the changes. Then type Control-X to exit.

You're done, you can install 10.7 or above now without having to install 10.6.8 since the installer will think it's 10.6.8.

You probably won't be able to install anything new until you upgrade the RAM though.

Re: RAM question [Re: Reboot] #626718 01/19/15 07:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,208
Acumowchek Offline OP
Is this thing on?
OP Offline
Is this thing on?
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,208
LOL! (I'm sending the disc in the mail) grin

I appreciate that, but there is no way I'm going to talk her through Terminal commands and have something go wrong. shocked

Re: RAM question [Re: NucleusG4] #626719 01/19/15 07:48 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Yeah.. now try huff po and FB.
Fine here. Slow as hell of course but they loaded and worked. Of course it was just for a short time.

Re: RAM question [Re: Acumowchek] #626720 01/19/15 07:48 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
I thought she was local.

Re: RAM question [Re: Reboot] #626722 01/19/15 08:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,208
Acumowchek Offline OP
Is this thing on?
OP Offline
Is this thing on?
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,208
4 hours round trip. It's not that I don't love her, but… wink

She ordered the RAM from OWC, and SL from Apple.
She also just said everything is working this morning. Go figure…

She needs to upgrade. She'll be better off for it.
Thanks for the help!

(Stay tuned for next weeks episode of, "How the Apple Turns").

Re: RAM question [Re: NucleusG4] #626732 01/20/15 03:39 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline
Master•Blaster
Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Yeah.. now try huff po and FB.


And Safari Webpage preview Fetcher has crashed on me at least 3 times this evening.

PITA being out-of-date.


Process: Safari Webpage Preview Fetcher [2887]
Path: /Applications/Safari.app/Contents/Safari Webpage Preview Fetcher
Identifier: Safari Webpage Preview Fetcher
Version: 6534 (6534.59.10)
Code Type: X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process: Safari [179]

Date/Time: 2015-01-19 22:37:05.379 -0500
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.6.8 (10K549)
Report Version: 6

Interval Since Last Report: 632479 sec
Crashes Since Last Report: 3
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 3
Anonymous UUID: 93A97602-3AD8-44C8-B136-E6781FF7C9F6

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x000000000000001c
Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Re: RAM question [Re: NucleusG4] #626733 01/20/15 05:33 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Safari Webpage preview Fetcher
I know it's basic but have you emptied the Safari Cache under Reset Safari? Clear web page icons too.

Page 2 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Acumowchek