Nasty iOS 8 Bug Could Erase Your iCloud Drive Documents
According to the report, the option to "Reset All Settings," found under Settings — General — Reset in iOS 8, also deletes documents from the iCloud Drive — permanently.
The option, which normally resets settings to factory defaults, clearly states that "no data or media will be deleted." However, after some users on MacRumors' forum complained about the bug, MacRumors tested the option out, and indeed, all the iWork documents stored in iCloud Drive both on the iPhone and on iCloud.com were gone.
Even worse, after iCloud synced with a Mac running OS X Yosemite, the documents were deleted from the Mac as well. Some of the documents — including Preview and TextEdit files — were untouched, but all iWork files seem to be affected.
In some scenarios it's possible to retrieve these files from a backup folder, or via Time Machine, but nothing is certain at this point, and Apple still hasn't publicly acknowledged the bug. For now, iOS 8 users who have iCloud Drive enabled should probably avoid using the "Reset All Settings" option.
Xplain's use of MacNews, AppleCentral and AppleExpo are not affiliated with Apple, Inc. MacTech is a registered trademark of Xplain Corporation. AppleCentral, MacNews, Xplain, "The journal of Apple technology", Apple Expo, Explain It, MacDev, MacDev-1, THINK Reference, NetProfessional, MacTech Central, MacTech Domains, MacForge, and the MacTutorMan are trademarks or service marks of Xplain Corp. Sprocket is a registered trademark of eSprocket Corp. Other trademarks and copyrights appearing in this printing or software remain the property of their respective holders.
All contents are Copyright 1984-2010 by Xplain Corporation. All rights reserved. Theme designed by Icreon.