Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: ASUS routers, what beasts. [Re: Reboot] #612042 02/11/14 04:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline
Nut Dood
Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
I don't normally reserve IPs, since there are several mobile devices that come and go around here. The two Minis and the Vonage modem are my only constants.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: ASUS routers, what beasts. [Re: MacBozo] #612046 02/11/14 05:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Reboot Online Content OP
Muhahahaha
OP Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Even though most routers assign the same IP based on MAC addresses I like to assign them for file sharing, printers especially, and remote access pinholes in the router, etc. Just a habit since I service many businesses. Like I said, most of the different settings don't come in to play for home use, but for commercial use the Asus are great so one doesn't have to pay for a commercial router.

I don't worry about mobile IP assignment either. No need for it.

Re: ASUS routers, what beasts. [Re: Reboot] #612070 02/11/14 10:23 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline
Nut Dood
Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Trigger pulled! $68 shipped from NewEgg, open box.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: ASUS routers, what beasts. [Re: Reboot] #612172 02/13/14 02:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline
Nut Dood
Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Had to reorder. For some reason, there was a glitch with PayPal. After reading the disclaimers for the open box, I went with a brand new one. CC info entered directly with Newegg went right through. smirk


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: ASUS routers, what beasts. [Re: Reboot] #612423 02/17/14 02:32 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline
Nut Dood
Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
UPS says "Out for delivery." I'll be at work today, so tomorrow is the earliest I can get it set up. The sooner the better, since I seem to be having some DNS issues this morning.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: ASUS routers, what beasts. [Re: MacBozo] #612503 02/18/14 09:32 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,704
P
Papa Offline
In Vegas with Nina Agdal
Offline
In Vegas with Nina Agdal
P
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,704
Saw this article about ASUS routers being hacked.

http://arstechnica.com/security/2014/02/...exploited-flaw/




Common sense and deodorant are a lot alike. People who need it the most don't use it.
Re: ASUS routers, what beasts. [Re: Papa] #612511 02/18/14 10:59 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Reboot Online Content OP
Muhahahaha
OP Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Interesting, luckily it only affects configurations that have a USB drive plugged into the router's USB ports.

The June 22 report found the "ability to traverse to any external storage plugged in through the USB ports on the back of the router,"

Readers are advised to lock down their routers by installing any available firmware updates, changing any default passwords, and ensuring that remote administration, Cloud, and FTP options are set to off if they're not needed.

Thx. Something to keep in mind if using the USB ports on the router for Media sharing or NAS or something.

Re: ASUS routers, what beasts. [Re: Reboot] #612527 02/19/14 02:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline
Nut Dood
Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Well, I wouldn't be connecting such externals anyway nor enabling the AiCloud service (don't need it). As I've stated before, my first order of business is to change the router's default IP address. Hopefully, I'll get it installed and set up today.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: ASUS routers, what beasts. [Re: Reboot] #612546 02/19/14 08:12 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline
Nut Dood
Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Holy crap! Strong signal throughout the house and well into the back yard (on the iPhone)!

Mikey likes it! grin

The wife's MacMini is getting a full signal at full speed for the first time and that machine is about 20 feet away from the router.

Last edited by MacBozo; 02/19/14 08:42 PM. Reason: added info

[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: ASUS routers, what beasts. [Re: Reboot] #612548 02/19/14 08:49 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline
Nut Dood
Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
I suppose I should let you know that I got the N56U. wink


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Acumowchek, MacGizmo, Reboot