Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Drobo! #566459 11/02/11 12:49 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I finally.. after 4? years.. pulled the trigger and bought the 4 bay for $239.0 and (5) 1.5 TB 5400 rpm WD Caviar Green drives (oem new Pulls) for $250.
So I am in for 5 bills and have a smart raid that will start with 6 TBs ( with a 1.5 drive back up ready to pop in..) and a whole lotta work this week to get a crap load of info backed up.
Finally!
I will post some reviews once I get into it.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566461 11/02/11 12:55 AM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
DLC Offline
I invented modding!
Offline
I invented modding!
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
SO you shrunk 6 Tb into 6 Gb ?? and it cost you $500 smackers !?? crazy

HA ! look what you wrote Nuc ! laugh

I think you need a nice "cool one" after all that hard work, pal ! wink


David (OFI)
Re: Drobo! [Re: DLC] #566462 11/02/11 01:13 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Huh?
I think you need to wipe off your bifocals...!

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566465 11/02/11 01:54 AM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
DLC Offline
I invented modding!
Offline
I invented modding!
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
Ah ha, you modded it, it did say GB not TB..

you sly fellow !! smile


David (OFI)
Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566466 11/02/11 02:05 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,157
J
John Rougeux Offline
Member # -1
Offline
Member # -1
J
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,157
Why 5400 instead of 7200?

Re: Drobo! [Re: John Rougeux] #566467 11/02/11 03:32 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
That's what was available at that price and it's for back up.. I don't need speed.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566480 11/02/11 06:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,541
zwei Offline
soporific
Offline
soporific
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,541
I await your review!

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566481 11/02/11 06:38 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,157
J
John Rougeux Offline
Member # -1
Offline
Member # -1
J
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,157
Gotcha. Ok, so yeah, let's hear about it! I'm jealous!

Re: Drobo! [Re: zwei] #566482 11/02/11 07:12 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Plug in 4 1.5 TB drives and attach to Mac via USB cable since I am using the one FW 800 port for my camera.
Plug in power and use Drobo to format drives. II set the ceiling for this volume at the max... 16 TB.....once I have reached that I will have to make a new volume.
The Drobo dashboard has a nice enough GUI.. and gives me the very basics. Although, as usual, the Mac consumer gets left in the cold. I saw a website where you can set several options including spin down time and such.. I don't see those options for the Mac version.
Also, you get a free app called PC Back up that works only with PCs. It allows you to designate folders and schedules. I don't have that as an option. Although i have read about users who just use DashBoard to monitor the state/health of the drives/system and use a 3rd party app for backing up/syncing, etc.

The unit itself is relatively nice with a respectable finished look.
I can barely hear the 4 drives and they must be pretty busy right accepting my first load of 260 GBs. It's a wee bit slow, partly due to the drives, and partly because it's just that way. Reviews have stated it to be much slower than your typical back up solution.. but then other solutions are typical RAIDs with their inherent limitations.
Also a bit slow partly due to the first time is going to take the longest since it has to write data all over the place.

This review is for the FS.. but the essentials are the same.

http://www.informationweek.com/byte/reviews/personal-tech/storage-memory/231602028?pgno=1

Also, the auto registration wouldn't work.. hit a dead end on their site.. so I had to log in and do it.

There were a myriad of options at the beginning like setting it up as a network share and such.. you can see more specifics here.

http://dashboardhelp.datarobotics.com/guide/200/en/index.htm

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566484 11/02/11 07:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Whoops! Found it!
All kinds of options to choose folders and set schedules... my bad.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566485 11/02/11 07:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
You can also set up email alerts as to what got transferred and also alerts as to any drive/health issues.

You can set folders to be excluded and you can opt for any items in the To: folder that are not present in the From: folder to be deleted.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566486 11/02/11 07:49 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I put in (4 ) 1.5 TB drives and have 5.45 "actual" to use... 1.39 is for "protection" and 4.06 is available for data.

Also, the descriptions read that you can use up to 2TB drives in these... but with the current firmware you can now use the newer 2.5 and 3 TB drives.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566487 11/02/11 08:43 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,157
J
John Rougeux Offline
Member # -1
Offline
Member # -1
J
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,157
Can you mix and match? Say have a 3TB with a couple of 2's?

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566490 11/02/11 08:57 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,082
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,082
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Whoops! Found it!
All kinds of options to choose folders and set schedules... my bad.
Do the spin down settings work now too? Wonder if they would work using Crossover if not through OS X.

Re: Drobo! [Re: John Rougeux] #566494 11/03/11 12:05 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Originally Posted By: John Rougeux
Can you mix and match? Say have a 3TB with a couple of 2's?


LOL.. you need to go their site and read about the Drobo and how it works. That's one of the positives about SmartRaid.

http://www.drobo.com/how-it-works/index.php

Re: Drobo! [Re: Reboot] #566495 11/03/11 12:07 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I can't find any spin down settings.
I need to check with their support... but the site says that after 15 minutes of inactivity they automatically go into standby mode/spin down. But the site also lists this as a software feature.

http://www.drobo.com/products/professionals/drobo/index.php


Also, at the bottom of page:

Power and Cooling
External Power Supply: AC Input - 100-240VAC~2.5A, 50-60Hz; DC Output - 12-17VDC 6.6A & 80W Max
Power Consumption - Idle System (standby, drives off): 12 watts
Power Consumption - Typical Busy System (four drives): 40 watts
Single, fixed cooling fan

====

Additional Software Features
Drive Spin Down
Drobo Copy

===

Also, if you click on Buy Now.. you will see they still want $400.00 so B&Hs $239.00 shipped ain't bad.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566508 11/03/11 10:22 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
walzuhair Offline
Smudgaholic
Offline
Smudgaholic
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
Congratulations.. I was planning on getting one & connect it to the Airport Extreme. But was a bit hesitant from the negative reviews I read at amazon.com

Re: Drobo! [Re: walzuhair] #566512 11/03/11 11:39 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I remember seeing some negative reviews.. but overall it seemed to be mostly positives. Do you remember which ones or what the issues were so I can keep an eye on it?

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566515 11/03/11 12:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
walzuhair Offline
Smudgaholic
Offline
Smudgaholic
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
There was talk about unexpectedly disconnecting, or simply general failure that requires restarting the drobo.. Such glitches are usually solved with firmware updates, but I decided to wait until the dust settles.

But your positive experience sounds encouraging. My photo archives are just scattered on piles of unscanned negatives/positives, CDs, DVDs, and hard disks. I need to store them on a RAID system before they go (or I go) up in smoke smile

Re: Drobo! [Re: walzuhair] #566520 11/03/11 02:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I thought you were going to say that...firmware issues. I read the same things yesterday.
It seems that at one time you had to seek out firmware updates sometimes.. it wouldn't auto update along with the softwares auto update. Apparently been fixed.
The several I was reading about were FW issues that would be fixed when switched over to USB. Fixed, on that account anyways.

Quote:
My photo archives are just scattered on piles of unscanned negatives/positives, CDs, DVDs, and hard disks. I need to store them on a RAID system before they go (or I go) up in smoke


This was my problem too. As a photographer I have Blu Rays with clients archives... 5 or disks with multiple copies of jobs at various states, my wifes personal photos and video which are around 240 GB right now.. and I have recently purchased 2 1080p camcorders... and have a baby girl who turns 3 this month. (you can't shoot enough HD of the kid, trust me)
I gotta get this sh!t under control!!!!

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566528 11/03/11 05:46 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
walzuhair Offline
Smudgaholic
Offline
Smudgaholic
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
Indeed, it ads up to a lot smile

Re: Drobo! [Re: walzuhair] #566531 11/03/11 06:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
OK.. I just now finally made it in to my studio. When I left yesterday I had a bunch of files copying and was copying most of the day...so it never had a 15 minute break. I just came in and popped off the cover. All drives were silent and cool to the touch.. so it does appear everything spun down on its own. Nice.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566605 11/04/11 11:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
walzuhair Offline
Smudgaholic
Offline
Smudgaholic
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
Are you willing to make a test?
Pull out one of the disks, insert a new one, and see if it can rebuild it smile

** defibrillator on standby **

Re: Drobo! [Re: walzuhair] #566607 11/05/11 12:04 AM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
DLC Offline
I invented modding!
Offline
I invented modding!
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
Originally Posted By: walzuhair
Are you willing to make a test?
Pull out one of the disks, insert a new one, and see if it can rebuild it smile

** defibrillator on standby **


LOL !! laugh laugh

Lesson 1 : Never sword play with "The Sheik" !! wink


David (OFI)
Re: Drobo! [Re: walzuhair] #566613 11/05/11 01:47 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I have the 4 bay.. but was reading a Drobo review the other day..(can't find it now) and he was reviewing the 5 bay. He decided to test that functionality and pulled a drive then popped it back in... then another and popped it back in.. then he pulled a drive completely and then another completely. He said that not only did it not falter but that all data was still accessible.

I would not want to try a 2 drive failure on a 4 bay though.....

Re: Drobo! [Re: walzuhair] #566614 11/05/11 01:48 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Originally Posted By: walzuhair
Are you willing to make a test?
Pull out one of the disks, insert a new one, and see if it can rebuild it smile

** defibrillator on standby **


Actually.. that's a great idea. I have a 5th drive so after I load this puppy up a bit more I'll try that.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566615 11/05/11 01:55 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
walzuhair Offline
Smudgaholic
Offline
Smudgaholic
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
DLC, LOL smile

NucleusG4, looking forward to it.. Can you video record it and throw it on YouTube?


Note: You're both David, so I had to use your usernames smile

Re: Drobo! [Re: walzuhair] #566618 11/05/11 03:50 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Video tape what... my pulling out a drive?
I have read that the rebuild can take a looong time...

Or were you wanting a time lapse video? If you want me to exert that much effort.. you're gonna hafta pay me!

Wassamatta.. you don't trust me? You gotta have a YT video??? LOL

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566637 11/05/11 07:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
walzuhair Offline
Smudgaholic
Offline
Smudgaholic
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
Sorry if lead you to understand that.. But I thought the swapping might contain steps that are useful for the rest of us to see, hence the video request. wink

Re: Drobo! [Re: walzuhair] #567495 11/24/11 05:50 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Dangit!
Now the 5 bay Network model is on sale for only $100.00 more than I paid for my 4 Bay.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/buy/Drobo/Ntt/DRDRDS2A21*/N/0

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #567500 11/24/11 08:33 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
DLC Offline
I invented modding!
Offline
I invented modding!
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
Let me ask Nuc... why not just get couple of 2 Tb drives? They're cheap now. That Drobo is only 3 Tb max... IF you could get the 15 Tb for that price I could see it.

Question 2: If it has 5 bays, why is it only 3Tb ??

Please enlighten me. wink


David (OFI)
Re: Drobo! [Re: DLC] #567513 11/25/11 12:19 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
That unit takes 5 drives.. up to 3TB each. 15 TBs!
Buy some Enterprise level HDs and not have to worry for a looong time about upgrading.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #567539 11/25/11 04:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
DLC Offline
I invented modding!
Offline
I invented modding!
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
Oh I thought the 3Tb was the whole unit !! blush

DUH !! crazy


David (OFI)
Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #567540 11/25/11 05:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 4,474
six_of_one Offline
Pool Bar
Offline
Pool Bar
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 4,474
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Dangit!
Now the 5 bay Network model is on sale for only $100.00 more than I paid for my 4 Bay.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/buy/Drobo/Ntt/DRDRDS2A21*/N/0

Ignore that kind of stuff now that you've already bought it -- otherwise you'll drive yourself (more?) crazy! =D

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #567544 11/25/11 05:41 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,082
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,082
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Now the 5 bay Network model is on sale for only $100.00 more than I paid for my 4 Bay.
Don't fret it. Not only is network backup still flaky, unless you have a complete gigabit network it can be an effort in frustration and functionality.

When it works right it's great, but when is the key word.

Re: Drobo! [Re: Reboot] #567549 11/25/11 07:23 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,541
zwei Offline
soporific
Offline
soporific
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,541
For most people I'd recommend Crashplan.com over a networked backup. That's what I use.

Re: Drobo! [Re: Reboot] #567550 11/25/11 07:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I wasn't so interested in the Network aspect so much as that with 5 drives if you have 2 go down at 1 time you're ok. Not so sure with the 4 bay model.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #567552 11/25/11 09:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,082
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,082
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
I wasn't so interested in the Network aspect so much as that with 5 drives if you have 2 go down at 1 time you're ok. Not so sure with the 4 bay model.
If I'm reading that right, $529.95, the price is sans HDs though.

Plus it's network only, no USB, FW.

Re: Drobo! [Re: Reboot] #567576 11/26/11 10:12 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Quote:
Plus it's network only, no USB, FW.

You are right! Thanks...I feel better.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #590473 02/21/13 06:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
OK.. it's been 15 months and all is well.
I have used 1.11 TBs and have 2.94 left.
When I get closer to being full I will start tossing out less relevant jobs that are older than 3 years.. and also some raw files and just keep the processed ones.
I have a lot of HD video on here that I converted to MP4s and I have most of all the family photos (wife has 50+GB alone).
There was an incident where I accidentally unplugged the unit from back of iMac and it went fubar for a few minutes (unrecognizable). A quick call to support and was well.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #617672 06/03/14 07:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
2.5 years and going strong. Only half full. No problems.
Would buy it again.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #631191 06/22/15 03:32 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Well... other than the one incident noted above that was user error... this raid has been flawless. Still have about 1.25 TB left... partly because I switched over to jpegs instead off tiffs for most clients. I'm due to go in and clean out files I don't need anymore.... but that will have to wait a couple of weeks.
3.75 years and going strong! Still the same drives too.

Re: Drobo! [Re: zwei] #631228 06/23/15 12:10 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Originally Posted By: zwei
For most people I'd recommend Crashplan.com over a networked backup. That's what I use.


I have Crashplan also... for the computers them selves... but not for work files that I need quick access to/ I have seen CP take foreverrrrr with some files.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #640795 08/15/16 05:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Quote:
2.5 years and going strong. Only half full. No problems.
Would buy it again.


Coming up on 5 years. No issues. Would do it again, and probably will.

I never did fill these drives up. Have some drives as back up/stand-by but haven't needed them.


Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Moderated by  Acumowchek