Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #567500 11/24/11 08:33 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
DLC Offline
I invented modding!
Offline
I invented modding!
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
Let me ask Nuc... why not just get couple of 2 Tb drives? They're cheap now. That Drobo is only 3 Tb max... IF you could get the 15 Tb for that price I could see it.

Question 2: If it has 5 bays, why is it only 3Tb ??

Please enlighten me. wink


David (OFI)
Re: Drobo! [Re: DLC] #567513 11/25/11 12:19 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
That unit takes 5 drives.. up to 3TB each. 15 TBs!
Buy some Enterprise level HDs and not have to worry for a looong time about upgrading.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #567539 11/25/11 04:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
DLC Offline
I invented modding!
Offline
I invented modding!
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 20,422
Oh I thought the 3Tb was the whole unit !! blush

DUH !! crazy


David (OFI)
Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #567540 11/25/11 05:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 4,474
six_of_one Offline
Pool Bar
Offline
Pool Bar
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 4,474
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Dangit!
Now the 5 bay Network model is on sale for only $100.00 more than I paid for my 4 Bay.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/buy/Drobo/Ntt/DRDRDS2A21*/N/0

Ignore that kind of stuff now that you've already bought it -- otherwise you'll drive yourself (more?) crazy! =D

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #567544 11/25/11 05:41 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Now the 5 bay Network model is on sale for only $100.00 more than I paid for my 4 Bay.
Don't fret it. Not only is network backup still flaky, unless you have a complete gigabit network it can be an effort in frustration and functionality.

When it works right it's great, but when is the key word.

Re: Drobo! [Re: Reboot] #567549 11/25/11 07:23 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,541
zwei Offline
soporific
Offline
soporific
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,541
For most people I'd recommend Crashplan.com over a networked backup. That's what I use.

Re: Drobo! [Re: Reboot] #567550 11/25/11 07:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I wasn't so interested in the Network aspect so much as that with 5 drives if you have 2 go down at 1 time you're ok. Not so sure with the 4 bay model.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #567552 11/25/11 09:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
I wasn't so interested in the Network aspect so much as that with 5 drives if you have 2 go down at 1 time you're ok. Not so sure with the 4 bay model.
If I'm reading that right, $529.95, the price is sans HDs though.

Plus it's network only, no USB, FW.

Re: Drobo! [Re: Reboot] #567576 11/26/11 10:12 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Quote:
Plus it's network only, no USB, FW.

You are right! Thanks...I feel better.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #590473 02/21/13 06:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
OK.. it's been 15 months and all is well.
I have used 1.11 TBs and have 2.94 left.
When I get closer to being full I will start tossing out less relevant jobs that are older than 3 years.. and also some raw files and just keep the processed ones.
I have a lot of HD video on here that I converted to MP4s and I have most of all the family photos (wife has 50+GB alone).
There was an incident where I accidentally unplugged the unit from back of iMac and it went fubar for a few minutes (unrecognizable). A quick call to support and was well.

Page 4 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Moderated by  Acumowchek