Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566485 11/02/11 07:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
You can also set up email alerts as to what got transferred and also alerts as to any drive/health issues.

You can set folders to be excluded and you can opt for any items in the To: folder that are not present in the From: folder to be deleted.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566486 11/02/11 07:49 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I put in (4 ) 1.5 TB drives and have 5.45 "actual" to use... 1.39 is for "protection" and 4.06 is available for data.

Also, the descriptions read that you can use up to 2TB drives in these... but with the current firmware you can now use the newer 2.5 and 3 TB drives.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566487 11/02/11 08:43 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,171
J
John Rougeux Offline
I invented modding!
Offline
I invented modding!
J
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,171
Can you mix and match? Say have a 3TB with a couple of 2's?

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566490 11/02/11 08:57 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Whoops! Found it!
All kinds of options to choose folders and set schedules... my bad.
Do the spin down settings work now too? Wonder if they would work using Crossover if not through OS X.

Re: Drobo! [Re: John Rougeux] #566494 11/03/11 12:05 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Originally Posted By: John Rougeux
Can you mix and match? Say have a 3TB with a couple of 2's?


LOL.. you need to go their site and read about the Drobo and how it works. That's one of the positives about SmartRaid.

http://www.drobo.com/how-it-works/index.php

Re: Drobo! [Re: Reboot] #566495 11/03/11 12:07 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I can't find any spin down settings.
I need to check with their support... but the site says that after 15 minutes of inactivity they automatically go into standby mode/spin down. But the site also lists this as a software feature.

http://www.drobo.com/products/professionals/drobo/index.php


Also, at the bottom of page:

Power and Cooling
External Power Supply: AC Input - 100-240VAC~2.5A, 50-60Hz; DC Output - 12-17VDC 6.6A & 80W Max
Power Consumption - Idle System (standby, drives off): 12 watts
Power Consumption - Typical Busy System (four drives): 40 watts
Single, fixed cooling fan

====

Additional Software Features
Drive Spin Down
Drobo Copy

===

Also, if you click on Buy Now.. you will see they still want $400.00 so B&Hs $239.00 shipped ain't bad.

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566508 11/03/11 10:22 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
walzuhair Offline
Smudgaholic
Offline
Smudgaholic
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
Congratulations.. I was planning on getting one & connect it to the Airport Extreme. But was a bit hesitant from the negative reviews I read at amazon.com

Re: Drobo! [Re: walzuhair] #566512 11/03/11 11:39 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I remember seeing some negative reviews.. but overall it seemed to be mostly positives. Do you remember which ones or what the issues were so I can keep an eye on it?

Re: Drobo! [Re: NucleusG4] #566515 11/03/11 12:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
walzuhair Offline
Smudgaholic
Offline
Smudgaholic
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,708
There was talk about unexpectedly disconnecting, or simply general failure that requires restarting the drobo.. Such glitches are usually solved with firmware updates, but I decided to wait until the dust settles.

But your positive experience sounds encouraging. My photo archives are just scattered on piles of unscanned negatives/positives, CDs, DVDs, and hard disks. I need to store them on a RAID system before they go (or I go) up in smoke smile

Re: Drobo! [Re: walzuhair] #566520 11/03/11 02:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline OP
Master•Blaster
OP Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
I thought you were going to say that...firmware issues. I read the same things yesterday.
It seems that at one time you had to seek out firmware updates sometimes.. it wouldn't auto update along with the softwares auto update. Apparently been fixed.
The several I was reading about were FW issues that would be fixed when switched over to USB. Fixed, on that account anyways.

Quote:
My photo archives are just scattered on piles of unscanned negatives/positives, CDs, DVDs, and hard disks. I need to store them on a RAID system before they go (or I go) up in smoke


This was my problem too. As a photographer I have Blu Rays with clients archives... 5 or disks with multiple copies of jobs at various states, my wifes personal photos and video which are around 240 GB right now.. and I have recently purchased 2 1080p camcorders... and have a baby girl who turns 3 this month. (you can't shoot enough HD of the kid, trust me)
I gotta get this sh!t under control!!!!

Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Moderated by  Acumowchek