Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
Re: Linux on Mac [Re: PapaBill] #542946 11/03/10 07:04 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,146
J
John Rougeux Offline
Member # -1
Offline
Member # -1
J
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,146
Well, when I get home I can download it and burn it to a disc and send it your way if you wanted.

Re: Linux on Mac [Re: PapaBill] #542951 11/03/10 08:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Originally Posted By: papabill


I went ahead and downloaded the first one from here, but it does the same thing. With no way to boot it, doesn't look like I'm even going to get the chance to try linux on this thing.

From what I read there may be some files that need to be on the top level of the HD on some older PPC machines. I'll try again tonight, I want to put a different HD in, don't want to lose what's on this one.

Re: Linux on Mac [Re: Reboot] #542959 11/03/10 11:18 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
I may try this when I get some free time. The beige G3 is a pain to install and boot Linux from. The more I read the more I find that the Open Firmware is buggy. Maybe that explains why I've seen so many drop to Open Firmware at startup.

Like was suggested before, try to find old AGP, G4 or iMac, you'll have a much better MAc experience than what you're trying to cobble together with that beige G3. They are not Old World, they are New World PPC ROM and have many more options to boot from a Linux install and installation CD.

Re: Linux on Mac [Re: Reboot] #542961 11/03/10 11:32 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline
Master•Blaster
Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Agreed.. you might as well be resurrecting a TRS-80.

Re: Linux on Mac [Re: NucleusG4] #542967 11/04/10 12:18 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
I took down the beige and fired up a G4 tower. It booted straight from the small CD and I began the debian install over the internet. Total GUI. Too easy.

That beige is too much work to install Linux on papabill. The floppy doesn't work and there is a bad RAM slot, and I know your funds are limited but your iMac, or for $50 a G4 AGP tower would be much more useful in the long run for both Linux and OS X. (Make sure it's an AGP G4 and not a PCI.) You'll be fighting that beige the whole way, and you'll be fighting it on your own. Sorry but I wipe my hands of Linux on the beige.

Good luck if you want to continue, but to compare, installing Linux on the beige is like walking through dense forest across a continent on a moonless night to get to your destination, and the New World machines are a jet with auto pilot and easy access to a climate controlled terminal to take off and land from.

I'll let you know how it finishes up when we land. grin

Edit - No need to burn 8 CD's with the net install either, and it seems it only downloads what it needs for your machine.

Thanks for the kick start though papabill, I have never installed Linux. Used and played with it but never installed it.

Edit #2 - Not a GUI install, my bad, but an easy to navigate and simple installer. Tab, arrow, Enter etc.

Last edited by Reboot; 11/04/10 02:10 AM. Reason: Double edit.
Re: Linux on Mac [Re: NucleusG4] #542974 11/04/10 01:32 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
PapaBill Offline OP
Where's the cache?
OP Offline
Where's the cache?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Agreed.. you might as well be resurrecting a TRS-80.


Hey, I've been into TRS-80 since the early '80s. They are my machine!! They are a case of doing something very well, just nothing is compatable with them.


I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Philippians 4:13
Re: Linux on Mac [Re: PapaBill] #542976 11/04/10 01:43 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
77% installed, I'll check back.

Re: Linux on Mac [Re: Reboot] #542982 11/04/10 02:14 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
PapaBill Offline OP
Where's the cache?
OP Offline
Where's the cache?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
Originally Posted By: Reboot
...I know your funds are limited but your iMac, or for $50 a G4 AGP tower would be much more useful in the long run for both Linux and OS X.


Unfortunately, the $50 for the machine and over $50 for shipping puts it too far out of my range.

I'm just gonna have to find a nice home for this one, I guess.

Thanks


I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Philippians 4:13
Re: Linux on Mac [Re: PapaBill] #542988 11/04/10 03:23 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
2:45 later and I'm running from Epiphany browser on my G4 Linux machine. 533 Mhz G4 AGP.

Need a video driver, stuck at 800x600.

BTW, keyboard response in a browser has never been this good on a PPC since OS 9.

I've forgot how much OS X resembles this GUI, and verbose mode boot process.

I meant GUI that time, mouse and everything.

I don't know where you are papabill, but if you shop around you can probably get an iMac or G4 tower for $50 or less if you drive to pick it up. IMO for the money, if it keeps you off the streets, see if you can loosen the purse strings this one time?

What aboout your iMac for Linux. Swap roles with the beige?

Re: Linux on Mac [Re: Reboot] #543188 11/05/10 02:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
PapaBill Offline OP
Where's the cache?
OP Offline
Where's the cache?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
Originally Posted By: Reboot
... if you shop around you can probably get an iMac or G4 tower for $50. What about your iMac for Linux. Swap roles with the beige?


G4 AGP on it's way. The iMac might just be my Linux machine.


I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Philippians 4:13
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  Acumowchek, MacGizmo, Reboot