Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
g4 progect update #487289 01/06/10 05:42 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
geekdude Offline OP
n00b
OP Offline
n00b
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
I finally got around to buying a g3 to swap the blue panels on my g4. I know its kinda old but it still has a powerpc processor and runs my os9 stuff. I also swapped the latch mechanism that goes under the mobo because mine was broke. this required cutting a square hole because the g4 has a square piece that looks like it acts as a heatsink for something on the backside of the board.



next on the to do list is clearing the side panels, fixing my secondhand blue and white studio display, selling the graphite-white g3, adding fans, and upgrading the processor.



I want to make a window on the bottom half of the case by cutting a hole in the metal and somehow gasketing it to the clear panel. then I plan on removing the fan and cage and mounting clear fans straight to the clear plastic. but im not sure how big I can make the window before the case looses structural integrity.

Then I can think about making it faster. I am tempted to buy a upgrade processor like the ones from newertech, sonnet, or owc. But it might be cheaper to either replace the whole motherboard, or just the processor with the ones from a mdd or quicksilver.

Last edited by geekdude; 01/06/10 05:51 PM.
Re: g4 progect update [Re: geekdude] #487294 01/06/10 05:55 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 401
Antonio Offline
NArF!
Offline
NArF!
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 401
Both are beautiful machines. I currently have two G4 towers I'm gonna' rebuild and sell off on craigslist or eBay.
(Every now and then, you gotta clean out the ol' tech closet.)

Hope you plan on keeping the blue and white display (LCD model, am I right?), as you don't see many of 'em around.


“Creative ability is best displayed with the most basic tools."

Website Facebook Twitter House of Hackers
Re: g4 progect update [Re: Antonio] #487359 01/06/10 11:23 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
geekdude Offline OP
n00b
OP Offline
n00b
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
The display is a Crt, but that's how I roll. The way I see it I am keeping lots of potentially harmful stuff out of the landfill. I do plan on keeping it if I can find out how to fix it. I had it hooked up for awhile and it started making a popping noise and then the picture would go away for a moment. it is currently in storage slowly discharging until I feel it is safe to open it up.

Re: g4 progect update [Re: geekdude] #487360 01/06/10 11:27 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,706
MacBozo Offline
Nut Dood
Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,706
I had the Graphite 17" CRT display. The popping noise and blackout was a known defect, but the repair was more costly than a replacement monitor. Probably was one motivation for Apple to switch to LCD displays.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: g4 progect update [Re: MacBozo] #487370 01/06/10 11:53 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
geekdude Offline OP
n00b
OP Offline
n00b
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
do you know what the cause was?

Re: g4 progect update [Re: geekdude] #487371 01/06/10 11:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,706
MacBozo Offline
Nut Dood
Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,706
It had something to do with the power supply/converter.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: g4 progect update [Re: MacBozo] #487376 01/07/10 12:42 AM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
geekdude Offline OP
n00b
OP Offline
n00b
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
yeah i just found it online its the flyback transformer.

Re: g4 progect update [Re: geekdude] #487405 01/07/10 03:21 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Originally Posted By: geekdude
I had it hooked up for awhilit is currently in storage slowly discharging until I feel it is safe to open it up.
You'll still want to discharge it. They hold it, plus they pick up and store static through the air.

Re: g4 progect update [Re: Reboot] #487417 01/07/10 04:37 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline
Master•Blaster
Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Originally Posted By: Reboot
Originally Posted By: geekdude
I had it hooked up for awhilit is currently in storage slowly discharging until I feel it is safe to open it up.
You'll still want to discharge it. They hold it, plus they pick up and store static through the air.


Thanks Mom.. yeeesh. whistle

Re: g4 progect update [Re: NucleusG4] #487418 01/07/10 05:05 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
I took "until I feel safe to open it up" as they figured it would be discharged. Sosumi. :-P

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Acumowchek