Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: hot swap mount for XServe Hard drive??? [Re: polymerase] #447508 09/30/09 06:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline
Master•Blaster
Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Are the sleds the same as the 1st gen MP quads... if so.. I have 3 extras.

Re: hot swap mount for XServe Hard drive??? [Re: NucleusG4] #447828 10/01/09 08:58 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 11,640
P
polymerase Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 11,640
No, I don't think so. The sled actually has a lot of electronics aboard which gives you the green LED light on the outer door (to see it functioning after you slide it in) as well as adaptor stuff so that all the connections are made in one fell swoop when you slam it all home.


Re: hot swap mount for XServe Hard drive??? [Re: polymerase] #447845 10/02/09 12:09 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline
Master•Blaster
Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Interesting... I would like to see a pic of that.

This?
http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=h...sa%3DN%26um%3D1

Last edited by NucleusG4; 10/02/09 12:11 AM.
Re: hot swap mount for XServe Hard drive??? [Re: NucleusG4] #447897 10/02/09 03:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 11,640
P
polymerase Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 11,640
Yup, that is the sled for the X-serve drives. Apple does not sell it separately but on Ebay it looks like they go for $155. Apple locks out all other drives since only their "blessed" drives sold in this sled can go into the server unless you buy them from someone on Ebay.

That gold coated wire in the bottom of the pic lights the LEDs on the sled handle and the power and data wires which are hooked to the drive wire the compact connector which is on the right had end which connects up making it hot swappable.

I might buy a sled and put a 2TB drive into my last bay to see how it works. I'm sure it would work fine.

Re: hot swap mount for XServe Hard drive??? [Re: polymerase] #452533 10/29/09 11:04 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
M
Mad Macs Offline
newbie
Offline
newbie
M
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Typically you cannot just put a regular hard drive into an ADM (Apple Drive Module) for the XServe and have it work. It *might* work, it might not. You can get cheap external storage for your xserve, Firewire 800 or eSata (with raid card) will work as well.

Re: hot swap mount for XServe Hard drive??? [Re: Mad Macs] #480728 12/04/09 06:35 AM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,192
neil Offline
Neil Ticktin
Offline
Neil Ticktin
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,192
Don't be so sure that it will work fine (the 2TB in the sled). The 1.5TB's that I have are NOT working in SOME of our Xserves.

See the thread at:
http://forums.mactech.com/ubbthreads.php/topics/479963/Intel_Xserves_Why_won_t_drives

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Acumowchek, MacGizmo, Reboot