Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
15" MacBook [Re: zap0lkinhere] #476618 03/23/09 10:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
I
Isight Offline OP
OP Offline
I
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Hi I have looked all over the net and have not found anything like this so I hope you guys can help. I have a 13" MacBook 2.2GHz Core 2 Duo with busted LCD. I am wondering if I could take the logic board, HD, optical drive etc. and put it all in a MacBook Pro case with a 15" LCD. The only reason I would want to do this is because I got the MacBook for $100 so If I could mod it to have a larger LCD that would be great. Thanks for your help.

Re: 15" MacBook [Re: zap0lkinhere] #476619 03/24/09 12:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 137
T
TonimusMaximus Offline
Offline
T
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 137
I hate to say it, but... No. I'm actually one of the few guys who was able to stuff a G4 iBook into a G3 case (And that was only the bottom half due to different keyboard and display connectors). The only reason I was able to make it work was because the case was the same size and mounting screws were in the same position. The MacBook and MacBook Pros are configured completely differently. Different batteries, the shape of the motherboard is different, the optical drive is in a different spot, the port configurations are different, the display connectors are different, the keyboard/trackpad connections are probably different as well. I don't see how you'd be able to make it work without chopping the case all to bits. You'd be better off making a new case and figuring out how to make the MacBook drive the larger screen. And even that would be a massive undertaking.

Re: 15" MacBook [Re: zap0lkinhere] #476620 03/24/09 07:37 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
I
Isight Offline OP
OP Offline
I
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
I have figured out everything but the display connector is there adapters?

Re: 15" MacBook [Re: zap0lkinhere] #476621 03/25/09 11:58 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 137
T
TonimusMaximus Offline
Offline
T
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 137
I do not know of any adapters like that. You'd have to figure out the pinout and do it yourself. Looking at the pictures I can find, it looks as though the connector on the back of the screen may be the same? None of them are high res enough to be able to tell for sure...


Moderated by  Acumowchek