Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Fan Control in an old ibook [Re: seeklykeemn] #470215 01/20/07 02:18 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
J
jordanit Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
So as some of you may know, i recently tried the tealight-fix for my ibook, which was a success.  I'm looking for a way to control the fan of the ibook G3, so it's internal temperature doesn't get as hot.  I've looked into Fan Control, and apparently it doesn't work.  If anyone has any ideas, or even knows if this is possible, please let me know!

Thanks,
Jordanit

Re: Fan Control in an old ibook [Re: seeklykeemn] #470216 01/20/07 02:52 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,656
M
maestro Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,656
It is not likely that you will be able to control its fan.  There are some things to help it run cooler though.  You can replace the thermal paste/pads with Arctic Silver 5.  You could open up the vents on it too.

Is it overheating?

Re: Fan Control in an old ibook [Re: seeklykeemn] #470217 01/23/07 11:49 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,816
T
TCPMeta Offline
MacModder
Offline
MacModder
T
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,816
You could tap into a 5 or 12 volt line that is constant and make the fan run the whole time.


To live is to let die
Re: Fan Control in an old ibook [Re: seeklykeemn] #470218 01/23/07 07:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,723
W
Waragainstsleep Offline
Offline
W
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,723
And if you fit a variable resistor in line with the constant feed, you can vary the speed manually/ Of course you'll have to have something protruding from the case to do that.

Re: Fan Control in an old ibook [Re: seeklykeemn] #470219 08/30/08 09:29 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 45
J
johnodd4 Offline
Offline
J
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 45
There is a mod for this but you won't like it.

Because it disables your airport card.

From what i have seen users have been rewiring the fan to the ibooks and powerbooks to the pcicima slots for the airport card using some wire and solder the issue however is it pulls enough voltage on the pcicima slot there isn't enough to run wireless and the mod at the same time.


Moderated by  Acumowchek