Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Airport Extreme #34638 01/07/03 10:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 83
O
OneTraveler Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
O
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 83
SO- i have cable modem and use Airport to network the computers together in the house (none are hardwired to the cable modem). Would I have any real advantage to switching to Airport Extreme? Or would that just be a case of me wanting to have the newest stuff?<br><br>Also, would the new Airport cards (which are smaller than the old Airport) fit like in say a new iMac?<br><br>

Re: Airport Extreme [Re: OneTraveler] #34639 01/07/03 10:23 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 19,198
MacGizmo Offline
What?
Offline
What?
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 19,198
I believe they will not work with any existing machines, only the new PowerBooks... however, I'm sure Apple will be updating all their machines to have the new connectors to use Airport Extreme.<br><br><br>Visit Me At My .Mac Site


The Graphic Mac - Tips, reviews & more on all things OSX & graphic design.
Re: Airport Extreme [Re: OneTraveler] #34640 01/07/03 10:27 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 174
bookrat Offline
member
Offline
member
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 174
The Airport Extreme BS wil be backward compatible with 802.11b (IIRC) but you won't be able to take advantage of any of the 802.11g until you get the new Airport Extreme Card. I doubt the cards will fit into current hardware as the connector looks different but I could be wrong. It looks like we'll need to look at a whole lot of hardware upgrades (or adaptors) before we get to make use of 801.11g capabilities.<br><br>


Moderated by  Acumowchek, MacGizmo, Reboot