Mushroom clouds!!!!!!<br><br><blockquote><font size=1>In reply to:</font><hr><p>Published on Sunday, July 6, 2003 by the New York Times <br><br>What I Didn't Find in Africa <br><br>by Joseph C. Wilson 4th<br><br>Did the Bush administration manipulate intelligence about Saddam Hussein's<br>weapons programs to justify an invasion of Iraq?<br><br>Based on my experience with the administration in the months leading up to the<br>war, I have little choice but to conclude that some of the intelligence related<br>to Iraq's nuclear weapons program was twisted to exaggerate the Iraqi threat.<br><br>For 23 years, from 1976 to 1998, I was a career foreign service officer and<br>ambassador. In 1990, as chargé d'affaires in Baghdad, I was the last American<br>diplomat to meet with Saddam Hussein. (I was also a forceful advocate for his<br>removal from Kuwait.) After Iraq, I was President George H. W. Bush's ambassador<br>to Gabon and São Tomé and Príncipe; under President Bill Clinton, I helped<br>direct Africa policy for the National Security Council.<br><br>It was my experience in Africa that led me to play a small role in the effort to<br>verify information about Africa's suspected link to Iraq's nonconventional<br>weapons programs. Those news stories about that unnamed former envoy who went to<br>Niger? That's me.<br><br>In February 2002, I was informed by officials at the Central Intelligence Agency<br>that Vice President Dick Cheney's office had questions about a particular<br>intelligence report. While I never saw the report, I was told that it referred<br>to a memorandum of agreement that documented the sale of uranium yellowcake — a<br>form of lightly processed ore — by Niger to Iraq in the late 1990's. The agency<br>officials asked if I would travel to Niger to check out the story so they could<br>provide a response to the vice president's office.<br><br>After consulting with the State Department's African Affairs Bureau (and through<br>it with Barbro Owens-Kirkpatrick,