Developer tools needs to be installed to have purge.

It's a placebo anyway for the standard user. It's mainly meant for developers to see what their apps are doing to memory without having to reboot to clear it.

If running it seems to speed your machine up, okay, but the OS takes care of memory allocation quite well unless you're running a rogue app that won't give up RAM.